Phones and texts
Answer rate test
Log one week of calls. See your answer rate by day and hour, voicemail rate and estimated lost jobs.
Open the tool: Answer rate testCompare
By Umair Nawaz, founder of Lirevon Updated How we check facts
We sell Lirevon, so read this with that in mind. Every answering service fact below links to the company's own pricing page, checked 26 Oct 2026. Prices change, so check before you buy.
You forward your business line to the service, all the time or only when you do not pick up. A receptionist answers in your company name, follows a script you agree on, and takes the caller name, address and job. You get the message by text, email or an app. Many services can also book an appointment or transfer a hot call to you.
Most charge by the minute or by the call, on a monthly plan. That suits a 1 to 5 crew tree company that wants a human voice while the crew is up a tree, at night or on weekends.
It is a good tool. It does one job: answering the phone. It does not text back the caller who hangs up, ask for reviews or build your website. That is where a full system is different.
Three well-known services that list prices on their own websites. Exactly as published, checked 26 Oct 2026. We picked them because their prices are public, not because they are the best or worst.
Source: Ruby pricing page, checked 26 Oct 2026.
Source: Smith.ai receptionist pricing page, checked 26 Oct 2026.
Source: PATLive pricing page, checked 26 Oct 2026.
Answering service facts come from the pricing pages linked in each row, checked 26 Oct 2026. Lirevon prices come from our pricing page.
| Question | Lirevon | Live answering service |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A done-for-you system for tree companies. We set it up and watch it. Text-back, AI receptionist, lead inbox, booking, review requests, website and Google profile tune-up. | A team of real receptionists who answer your calls in your business name and pass on messages. Many serve all kinds of businesses. Sources: Ruby, Smith.ai, PATLive, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
| Who answers the phone | An AI receptionist (software, not a person) answers the calls you miss. 300 minutes a month are included in Core. | A live person. The three services we checked all list live staff 24/7. Sources: Ruby, Smith.ai, PATLive, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
| Published price | $497 a month plus $997 setup ($297 for the first 3 founding clients). Carrier fees at cost. | From $49 a month plus $2.99 a minute (PATLive pay as you go), $250 for 50 minutes (Ruby), $300 for 30 calls (Smith.ai). Ruby and Smith.ai list no setup fee. Sources: PATLive, Ruby, Smith.ai, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
| How the price grows | Flat monthly price. The minutes used show in your monthly report. | By minutes or by calls. Busy months, like storm season, use more of the plan. Sources: Ruby, Smith.ai, PATLive, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
| Booking estimates | The AI receptionist and online booking page put estimates in your calendar. | Listed by all three. One charges $1.50 per booked call. Sources: Ruby, PATLive, Smith.ai, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
| Spanish | Spanish phone support is part of the Growth plan ($997 a month), not Core. | Listed by all three. One includes it, one charges $1.00 per call. Sources: PATLive, Ruby, Smith.ai, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
| Text-back, reviews, website | Included: text-back in 30 seconds, review requests after every job, a 5-page website, Google profile tune-up, monthly report. | Not the main job of a call answering plan. Some sell chat or outbound calls as separate plans. Sources: Ruby, PATLive, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
| Contract | No long contract. Cancel with 30 days' notice. | PATLive lists no contracts. Smith.ai lists month-to-month with no long-term contract. The Ruby page did not state a term on the day we checked. Sources: PATLive, Ruby, Smith.ai, checked 26 Oct 2026. |
Not sure which you need? Start by counting the calls you miss. Our free audit checks your phone, website and Google profile and tells you honestly if an answering service alone would do. The 60-day guarantee refunds the setup fee if the system does not bring 3 extra booked estimates, with conditions on the pricing page.
Related: AI receptionist vs answering service, text-back vs answering service, missed calls guide and AI receptionist guide.
A company with real receptionists who answer your phone in your business name, take the caller details and send you a message. Many also book appointments. They serve all kinds of businesses, not only tree work.
No. Lirevon is a done-for-you system: missed-call text-back, an AI receptionist, a lead inbox, booking, review requests, a website and a Google profile tune-up. We do not run a human call center.
It depends on minutes or calls. On 26 Oct 2026 the published plans we checked started at $49 a month plus $2.99 a minute (PATLive), $250 for 50 minutes (Ruby) and $300 for 30 calls (Smith.ai). Check each pricing page, since prices change.
If you only want calls answered, often yes. Lirevon Core is $497 a month plus setup, but it also covers text-back, booking, review requests and a website. Compare what you would pay for each piece.
The three we checked list appointment scheduling. One charges $1.50 per booked call. Ask how they book into your calendar and what they do with odd jobs, like a tree on a house.
The three we checked list Spanish or bilingual answering. One includes it, one charges $1.00 per call. At Lirevon, Spanish phone support is part of the Growth plan ($997 a month).
Yes. Some owners want a person on storm calls and software for the rest. Missed-call text-back still helps when a caller hangs up before anyone answers.
An AI receptionist answers the calls you miss and can book the estimate. Core includes 300 minutes a month. It is software, not a person. Our remote team watches the system on US hours, Monday to Saturday.
Lirevon has no long contract; cancel with 30 days notice. PATLive lists no contracts, and Smith.ai lists month-to-month billing. The Ruby page did not state a term when we checked, so ask them.
Not yet. We are taking our first founding clients now, and our first case studies are planned for December 2026. We will not invent any.
More comparisons: see all comparisons. Or read all our FAQs.